Maine Islands Coalition

The Maine Islands Coalition is a collaboration of island communities, that discusses and, when possible, reaches consensus on issues brought forward by its elected or appointed year-round island representatives. The MIC advocates for the economic and environmental sustainability of year-round island communities.

The Maine Islands Coalition (MIC) was officially formed in March of 2004 to represent and advocate for the concerns and interests of the fourteen year-round Maine Coast Island communities.  Each Island’s municipal governing body or primary civic organization sends an elected or appointed representative to the quarterly meetings in Rockland.

At each four-hour meeting we address a keynote topic, usually vetted in a panel format, as well as ensuring time slots for other year-round island issues either of the moment or of on-going concern.  We have been fortunate to have island-district state legislators attend each meeting and have been successful in securing well-versed in-state panelists from each topical area.

We have been successful in providing a consistent voice for islands in Augusta, to the press, and to outside groups. Since islands are generally sparsely populated, this provides a group of citizens with common interests and problems a stronger voice at the state level.

The goal of MIC representatives is to bring island issues to the their forums for discussion and problem solving and to bring back the fruits of those discussions to their island communities. A term of appointment lasts three years, and there are no term limits.

Chebeague Island Representatives to the Coalition are Donna Damon and Beverly Johnson (alt)

 

2011 Annual Report

2010 Annual Report

YEAR-ROUND ISLANDS and their representatives:

Cliff Berle, Roger (Chair) rkberle@msn.com 781-5331
766-2827
712-5565 c.
2011
Chebeague

Damon, Donna

Beverly Johnson (alt)

publicservant1@chebeague.net

bjohnson@chebeague.net

846-5140
846-4805 x.218

846 4850

2010
Cranberry Isles Donald, Malcolm madonald@myfairpoint.net 773-0004 2010
Great Diamond

Finney, Alden

Weber, Betsy

abfinney1@myfairpoint.net

dinosaurenterprises@yahoo.com

766-2988

766-5673

2009
Isle Au Haut Graf, Rudy rgraf@thesciencesource.com 832-6344 w.
563-1423 h.
2010
Long

Greene, Mark

Mary McAleney

mlongreene2@aol.com

mcaleney@gmail.com

766-4440

766-5579

2008
Islesboro

Grossman, Jeff

Olson, Craig

manager@midcoast.com

craig@artisanbooksandbindery.com

 

743-6850

 
Swans

Lee, Dexter

Wiegle, Donna

dexlee@tdstelme.net

donna@swansisland.org

526-4371
526-4279

526-4101

2010
Matinicus Murray, Eva murray@midcoast.com 366-3695 2010
Peaks

Mahoney, Ellen

Foster, Christina

edandellen@maine.rr.com

christinafoster@gmail.com

766-2543

766-2307

2009
Frenchboro Roxby, Beverly twomacs@tdstelme.net 334-2626 (home)                    666-2903 (cell) 2009
North Haven Shields, Lisa lisadick@midcoast.com 867-4894 2011
Monhegan Stevens, Jess jes_stevens@hotmail.com    
Vinalhaven

Stratton, Marjorie (Co-Chair)

Warren, Kathy

mstratton@townofvinalhaven.org

kwarren@vinalhavenschool.org

863-2042

 

2011
Island Institute Terry, Mary mterry@islandinstitute.org 593-2226 n/a
Little Diamond Tierney, Mark markftierney@gmail.com 766-3093
450-3944
2011