4th of July Road Race

July 7, 2002

Scott McGovern first man, Lila Nichols first woman at
25th Annual 4th of July Road Race.

Twenty five years ago 10 folks ran in the first
Chebeague Island 4th of July Road Race. This year an
all-time record of over 110 children and adults ran in
the two races on the morning of July 4th.

Scott McGovern finished first out of 70 runners in the
25th Chebeague Island 4th of July Road Race. On a 90
degree day his winning time was 24 minutes 58 seconds
for the 4.2 mile course. It was his second win. He won
his first Chebeague race 16 yeas ago.
Second place went to Shane O'Mahoney at 25:30. Third
Place was taken by Ian McNeil at 25:33.

Lila Nichols was the fastest woman at 30 minutes and 6
seconds. Kate Emery was second at 30:36 and Libby
Marshal third at 32:50.

The 1.3 mile Fun Run was won by Will Poell for the
boys in 9:38 and Kathleen Ragen for the Girls in
9:53. They are both 11 years old.

Other 4.2 mile road race winners:
Men 1st under 14 Rory McCullum 35:54
Men 1st over 40 Scott McGovern 24:58
Men 1st over 50 Bradley Tyler 33:30
Men 1st over 60 Bill Benisek 36.11

Women 1st over 40 Nancy Earnest 34:34
Women 1st over 50 Mary Werlin 39:43

This year marked Ray Shevnell's 23st consecutive year
completing the race.

The race is run under the auspices of the Chebeague
Island Council. Beth and Michael Grunko would like the
thank Jeannette and Ken Hamilton and Leila and Suhail
Bisharat and the CRC folks and others along the way on
this scorching hot day for providing water for the
runners. We are very grateful to members of the
McCullough family and Betsy Adams and a host of
would-be spectators for volunteering to help.

We are always hoping to improve the race. Any
suggestions would be helpful. They can be e-mailed to
Michael Grunko at grunkom@yahoo.com.